justin bieber destroyed my faith.

Justin Bieber came to Toronto on Saturday. Toronto is almost his home town, having grown up a couple hours West of here. It was probably a pretty big deal for him, as I imagine it is for many pop stars, to play to a sold-out home crowd.

It was also probably a pretty big deal for the fans. In fact, I know it was a pretty big deal for the fans because I saw what felt like three hundred million of them on Saturday night.

My work is right across from the Roger’s Centre (formerly and in my heart known as the Skydome). We’re beside a sushi restaurant and St. Louis Bar and Grill so when there are events going on, the three of us become insanely busy. Depending in the event, one of us will get more busy than the other.

In this case, we probably won.

From early afternoon right until close my work was packed. We were full of moms, dads, and kids all waiting to see the Biebs. We had girls sitting on the floor in the washroom (we clean those washrooms and everything but still… ew) charging their phones, blocking the doorway and not understanding when we politely asked them to vacate. We had people sitting on windowsills, practicing their interior design skills by rearranging as many pieces of furniture they could lay their hands on, and ultimately creating a madhouse in the café.

For the most part, it was actually a lot of fun. It’s always good when work is busy from both a business and a never-gets-boring perspective. During the day, some people were rude but most were nice. It was clearly busy and most people understood that.

Here’s the thing, though: my work closes at 11:30 pm every night (pretty darn good for a coffee shop, if you ask me). The Justin Bieber concert let out just after 10:30.

Cue: mayhem ensuing.

I have never, in my working there for over a year and the countless baseball games, concerts, and events I have worked through, seen my work as busy as it was on Saturday night. For awhile it was fine, and then we reached 11:30, realized we were supposed to be close and we were still looking at a line up stretching down the length of our store.

We politely let everyone know that unless they were waiting for a drink, we had to ask them to leave because we needed to start cleaning and locking up soon. Some people were nice, most were not. One girl, upon telling me she was waiting for her parents and I told her that I knew it was cold but she needed to wait outside, explained to me that she was going to tell her father it was my fault if she gets abducted. I told her that my name is Caitlin and she is more than welcome to text him that while she is waiting outside (thank goodness she took it as the joke it was).

Another girl, when she had the exact same conversation with me and I told her I know it’s cold blah blah blah promptly turned to her friend and said, “Oh my god that girl is such a bitch.”

Kid, you don’t even know the level of bitch this girl can get.

All kidding aside, though, what floored me about it the most was this:

1. That 15 year old girl thought it was cool, necessary, fun, what have you, to call me a bitch and that she had the right to say that.
2. I was actually being polite and practically pleading with people to leave so that we could close up, in this instance not being bitchy at all.

I thought about it after and instead of making me mad it honestly just made me a little sad. I never wanted to or try to be one of those people who talk about the younger generations and how they’re losing certain values or important abilities. I think it’s a new generation with new technology, new methods, and new lessons that they need to learn. However, if the sample group that I was in contact with on Saturday night was any indication of what’s heading towards our work force I say lord help us.

I have never seen such a blatant display of disrespect for public places, for service personnel, and for their parents. Leaving garbage everywhere, rolling their eyes and glaring me and my staff down when we ask them to please not block the door because it’s dangerous, and staring at me like I owe them something as they order their chai latte. I’ll give a little bit of the benefit of the doubt here in that I know they were out, without their parents, in the big city and probably felt really cool. They probably tried to seem grown up and cool because of it.

Someone needs to teach them that in a few years, treating people like shit will not be cool. It will be sad and no one will want to hang out with them.

I have seen young girls like this before when I’ve been out at the mall, a restaurant, another coffee shop. I’ve seen young girls act this way on multiple occasions. I’ve never had to deal with it directly and I almost feel bad since now, due to Saturday, I’m fairly prejudiced against all girls aged 13-17 who are wearing TNA sweaters that they probably didn’t purchase themselves (subbing the TNA sweater for Uggs, Canada Goose jacket, Lulu Lemon anything, and a Justin Bieber shirt is acceptable).

I really hope that if you have a daughter you can fully trust that she is acting appropriately when she’s not with you. This goes for your son, too, if you have one. Parents and teachers do their best to teach respect, and I imagine it must be hard once kids become teenagers and they get all hormonal and all “Look I grow armpit hair now so I’m pretty much an adult”.

What they need to learn is acting like the world owes them something or like they deserve whatever they want is a recipe for being really lonely in your twenties and probably for the rest of your life.

Because really, even if they do have friends they’ll probably be exactly like them and call them a bitch as soon as they buy the same Chanel bag.

And that’s the story of how Justin Bieber ruined my Saturday and my faith in young humankind.

Leave a Reply

