days three-five.

I’m going to try not to make this blog post too long but it just might be given the fact that I haven’t updated in a couple of days. I discovered a little too late that my power cord for my laptop is not compatible with my adapter… and therefore it is dead and being lugged around with slight disdain.

I spent the weekend in Kilkenny, a stop that I hadn’t meant to make but decided to on discovering a Kilkenny roots music festival happening there. I was happy I did. The city was breathtaking, full of absolutely beautiful cathedrals, a castle, little shops and a vibrant feel. It was the sort of Ireland I had longed to see when I first left.

I saw a few acts during the weekend, one ended up being a band that was staying at my hostel so I made some friends for the night and watched them play. Thank goodness they ended up actually being good because I really wasn’t in the mood to fake it for them. We hung out, talked, and drank a little and I ended up not heading to bed until about four in the morning… eek!

The next day I strolled around the castle gardens (seriously) and just sat on the grass and enjoyed it all. I am still impressed that no one ever lied when they told you how green Ireland is.

Sunday night I stopped in to a bar with a band playing old blues and rockabilly songs. I drank a beer and watched all the people dancing, old and young. They were so lively and together, it was a wonderful thing to see. I’m not sure if we have enough of that in Toronto.

I made the silly decision of trying to make my way to Cork today despite it being a holiday Monday here… big mistake. Ended up taking me much longer than it should have and I was frustrated by the time I showed up. Add on top of that, that I’m not even sure if I like Cork all that much. It’s pretty, sure, but it’s mainly just big shops and fast food places. It feels a little rundown and reminds me of Hamilton… not a glowing review, really.

I plan on heading to the good old Blarney stone tomorrow though so that should perk it up a little.

Overall, things are going great. I’m feeling a little homesick, it took a few days for it to sink in that I’m away and I’m alone and I won’t be seeing people I know for what feels like forever. Probably in for a tough couple of days because of it, but I’m sure it will be over soon enough.

Leave a Reply

